Queer Paranormal Mysteries — REC LIST πŸŒˆπŸ”πŸŽƒ

So, if there is one genre I am obsessed with it’s paranormal mystery. It all started with one Kate Daniels, A.K.A. the best and the most badass paranormal investigator in all universes (or at least in my head). And, of course, now that I am a bi person I want my beloved genre but ya know… gayer.

And out of this necessity this list is born.

Also, it’s nearly October and y’all are complying your spooky TBRs probably so this is just in time!

1. Witchmark by C.L. Polk | β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…,5 | RTC | Series ongoing | #1 (different MCs)

Key words: m/m, historical, witches, fae, parallel London, secret society, Adult

2. Spellbound by Allie Therin  | β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…,5 | Review | Series ongoing | #1 

Key words: m/m, found family, pinning, slight enemies to lovers, height difference, psychics, historical, New York, Adult

3. Magic, Murder & Mistletoe by Ellen Jane | β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜† | Review | Standalone

Key words: f/f, slight enemies to lovers, cosy mystery, witches, sorcerers, Christmas, short, Adult

4. Shadowmancer by Lee Isserow | β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜† | Review | Series completed? | #1 out of 5

Key words: m/m, secret society, witches, Adult 

5. Iron & Velvet by Alexis Hall* | β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜† | Series ongoing | #1

Key words: f/f, vampires, shapeshifters, witches, faes, urban fantasy, love triangle, Adult

*This one probably deserved more stars but I was just after a shitty surgery and I was a bit put off by blood so sexy bloodsucking didn’t do it for me

6. Among the Living by Jordan Castillo Price | β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜† | Series ongoing? | #1 out of 10

Key words: m/m, psychics, cops, urban fantasy, ghosts, Adult

7. Deadline by Stephanie Ahn | TBR | Series ongoing | #1

Key words: f/f, butch, urban fantasy, New York, BDSM, Adult

8. The Curse of the Old Woods by Elizabeth Andre | TBR | Series ongoing | #1

Key words: f/f, rivalry, urban fantasy, ghosts, gets better with 2nd book, Adult

9. The Rules and Regulations for Mediating Myths & Magic by F.T. Lukens | TBR | Series ongoing | #1

Key words: m/m, urban fantasy, YA 

10. New Shoes by B.C. Palmer | TBR | Series ongoing | #1

Key words: gay man & bi woman, sorcerers, witches, Adult 

11. The Last Sun by K.D. Edwards | TBR | Series ongoing | #1

Key words: m/m, tarot, past abuse, NA

12. Santa Olivia by Jacqueline Carey | TBR | Series completed | #1 out of 2

Key words: f/f, friends to lovers, shapeshifters, urban fantasy, dystopia, YA

13. Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey | TBR | Standalone

Key words: queer woman, morally gray MC, urban fantasy, science & magic, NA

14. Hexbreaker by Jordan L. Hawk  | TBR | Series ongoing? | #1 out of 4 (different MCs)

Key words: m/m, witches, shapeshifters, historical, Adult

15. The Broken Forest by Megan Derr | TBR | Standalone

Key words: f/f, trans, mercenary, witches, short, Adult

16. Borderline by Mishell Baker | TBR | Series completed | #1 out of 3

Key words: bi woman, mental health, disability, fae, urban fantasy, Adult 

17. Witch Wolf by Winter Pennington | TBR | Series completed | #1 out of 3

Key words: f/f, shapeshifters, urban fantasy, Adult

Key Words Guide (press Ctrl + F):

YA | NA | Adult

f/f | m/m | trans 

friends to lovers | enemies to lovers | pinning | found family | love triangle | rivalry

witches | sorcerers | fae | mercenary |psychics | ghosts

urban fantasy | historical | dystopia | short | cosy mystery

Have you read any of those?

Can you rec me more queer paranormal mysteries? Especially with trans characters since I only have one on this list!

–E.

iconfinder_social-media_wordpress_1543315 iconfinder_social-media_goodreads_1782229 iconfinder_social-media_twitter_1543317 iconfinder_social-media_pinterest_1543320 iconfinder_social-media_instagram-black_1885169

[icons]

31 thoughts on “Queer Paranormal Mysteries — REC LIST πŸŒˆπŸ”πŸŽƒ

  1. This is really a great post! I adore Kate Daniels too 😍 and I have read a couple of your titles: Santa Olivia is amazing ❀️ Iron & Velvet was pretty good and I just discovered that we would, probably, get a third book in that series so I am overjoyed!
    And for the rest… Well, I have added almost all of them to my wishlist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m forever a Kate Daniels fan ❀ ❀ Best worldbuilding IMO!

      I have the physical copy of Santa Olivia so maybe I'll finally start it this autumn πŸ™‚ And I need to reread Iron & Velvet because I feel I wasn't in the best mood the first time I read it and it made me enjoy it less than I would otherwise lol.

      Nice! Always glad to be helpful! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to love the Kate Daniels series, but I haven’t read it in AGES. You’ve already listed one of the ones I was going to suggest. I read Magpie Lords, and it was slightly supernatural. KJ Charles did that one I believe. I can’t think of any others at the moment! (I can think of several that don’t have queer characters though)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh I have been wanting to add more queer books to my TBR and the books on this list all sound so awesome!! definitely the perfect paranormal reads in time for halloween~ *proceeds to drown in another tower of TBRs*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh this rec list is amazing! Thank you for posting it.

    Hex breaker by Jordan L Hawk is fantastic! – The hexworld Series is still one of my all time faves. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! Paranormal Mystery is my fav genre so I’m always looking out for more queer books like those! I’m not much into regular mysteries so I can’t help much with those though! :c

      Like

Leave a comment