FEATURED IMAGES — Make Your Own Graphics with CANVA

Hello Darlings!

It’s been a while since I did a Tips & Tricks post and since it’s something that got me nominated to Book Blogger Awards I think I should make one to celebrate that!

Also, I wanted to do this post for a while now!

  1. Basics
  2. Background
    1. Photos from Canva
    2. Backgrounds from Canva
    3. Your Sent Files and where to get photos legally
  3. Elements
    1. Basic elements to make a cool featured image
    2. Editing elements
  4. Text
  5. Example images (& blanks you can use)

basics

First of all, you need to choose the size of your featured images. For me, it’s 1200 x 675 px.

Once you do that (and make a canva account) click ‘Create a design’ –> ‘Custom dimensions’ and write in your chosen width and height. Then click ‘Create new design’

1

You’ll be welcomed with the big white space & templates you can choose from

2

I’ll be showing you how to do things from a blank but you can make your life easier and find a template you like.

background

Now, to make a background, you can:

  • just click on the blank and you’ll see background colour icon — click it and choose your background colour
  • upload your file and use it as a background
  • use photos from canva as a background
  • use backgrounds from canva
3

(forgive my shitty arrows, I was lazy and made it in Paint)


Photos from Canva

Photos are basically images with A Thing on them (a person, an animal, a book…) Also, they can be dropped into The Field you’ll learn about in the Elements section.

sample featured images

Backgrounds from Canva

Backgrounds are basically an empty space that is not blank? And they can be only dropped into the whole image.

sample featured images

Your Sent Files and where to get photos legally

If canva’s photos and backgrounds are not enough for you, you can add your own. As you can see, I mostly add book covers so I can make specific review featured images but also other pretty images that can be used as backgrounds or whatever. They can be dropped into The Field as well.

sample featured images

You can also find free photos on:

elements

Elements are a wide category from icons to shapes. But basically, elements will make your images look pretty.

sample featured images

THE FIELD: If the element has an image of this nice field it means you can drag another image into it and it will appear in the shape the field was in.

Fields are useful for making your book covers the same size or some crazier more complex ideas you have.

sample featured images

Now, let’s talk about editing elements:

sample featured images

(from left to right)

  • some elements enable you to edit colours and the first four boxes are for this exactly
  • crop is self-explanatory
  • so is flip
  • position enables you to switch what is above and what is below between images, elements, text…
  • the roll means ‘copy style’ so you can e.g. copy the style of the element and apply it to the background which will make it the same colour scheme
  • the fading icon changes transparency of an image/element
  • next you have link
  • the lock locks element/text/… in one place
  • duplicate copies element/text/…
  • the trash can deletes the thing

Some useful elements to search for:

  • line
  • dots
  • circle/round
  • frame
  • florals
  • torn
  • background
  • snow
  • book/books
  • paper
  • note

text

Now, to create your text you can either use font combinations available (and then edit them to your liking) or create your own from scratch.

sample featured images

(from left to right)

  • font
  • font size
  • font colour
  • bold
  • italics
  • allignment
  • list
  • spacing between the letters and/or lines
  • effects (shadow, lift, hollow, splice, echo, glitch, neon)
  • underline
  • uppercase
  • position (enables you to switch what is above and what is below between images, elements, text…)
  • the roll means ‘copy style’ so you can e.g. copy the style of the element and apply it to the background which will make it the same colour scheme
  • the fading icon changes transparency of an image/element
  • link
  • the lock locks element/text/… in one place
  • duplicate copies element/text/…
  • the trash can deletes the thing

examples

Now I have something to get you inspired.

It will be also available on my canva account here where you hopefully will be able to copy the elements if you like my designs.

PLEASE! Credit me if you use my designs & link to this post.

I will be probably making more designs when I’m bored so the folder stays fresh.

coollogo_com-324841261


  • Was that useful for you?
  • What Tips & Tricks would you like to hear about next time?

coollogo_com-3097518

iconfinder_social-media_wordpress_1543315 iconfinder_social-media_goodreads_1782229 iconfinder_social-media_twitter_1543317 iconfinder_social-media_pinterest_1543320 iconfinder_social-media_instagram-black_1885169

[icons]

14 thoughts on “FEATURED IMAGES — Make Your Own Graphics with CANVA

  1. I wish this post is there when I first tried my hands on Canva!! I wasn’t really good with graphic designing in the first place and although Canva is pretty easy to use I still stumbled with the tools and the editing methods. Well I’m not really a pro now or anything but I at least have understood how things work on Canva.

    Thank you for writing this post and sharing with us these tips and tricks!! It’s been quite some time since I played around with Canva. Makes me want to get back into it to try other things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too, Aina! That’s why I wrote it — it’s much faster to figure things out with a little guidance! And I love your design! It’s simple but pretty — I tend to overdo things a bit 😀

      No problem! Can’t wait to see what you come up with then ❤

      Like

      1. Your post definitely will be very helpful for those who are new to Canva! And thank you for your compliment 💕 Well I’m still an amateur at things designing so it’s always safe to make it simple 😅 but I love your designs too! The examples of your header designs you included are so nice. They’d make a good inspiration for me to try ‘spice’ things up 😆

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great resource! I had no idea about Canva before now and I’m DEFINITELY going to be using it going forward. You have a very clear, easily understandable, useful guide — well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment